Vetus Latina

Newly assembled and edited
following the work of Petrus Sabatier
by the Archabbey of Beuron
under the direction of Thomas Johann Bauer

What is the Vetus Latina?

Vetus Latina or "Old Latin Bible" is the collective title for the large and very diverse collection of Latin biblical texts used by Christian communities from the second century. Following the expansion and triumph of Christianity in the Roman Empire, Latin became increasingly used as a lingua franca in place of Greek, first in North Africa and then in Spain, England, Gaul and Germany. A diverse array of translations of the Bible appeared, frequently inaccurate and not controlled by any ecclesiastical authority. This flood of versions came to an end in the fourth century as one of them, later known as the Vulgate, gradually established itself in place of the others. By the Carolingian era, the variety of Old Latin texts had been completely superseded.

 

The Vulgate is a collection of biblical texts from several sources. Its foundation is the translation of Old Testament books made directly from the Hebrew, with reference to other Greek and Latin versions, by Jerome († 419). For the remaining parts of the Old Testament, as for the New Testament, the Vulgate is a revised form of an Old Latin translation: of these, only the Gospels were the work of Jerome. The Vulgate presents a characteristic text clearly distinguishable from the rest of the tradition, even though during its long history it too has been subject to various recensions and editions.

In contrast, the Vetus Latina consists of all biblical texts translated from the Greek which do not correspond to the Vulgate. Most Old Latin versions have only been transmitted as fragments. Alongside the few manuscripts which have been preserved, covering an uneven selection of biblical books, the citations and allusions in Latin Church Fathers (and Christian writings in Greek which were translated into Latin at an early date) are an essential source for investigating the tradition. The citations of Cyprian, Bishop of Carthage († 258) provide a firm starting-point: the vocabulary and translation technique of the version used by Cyprian are clearly differentiated from later forms of text, attested in abundance from the fourth century onwards.

A Foundational Document for European
Cultural and Religious History

The text of the Latin Bible constitutes one of the most important pieces of evidence for western civilisation. The numerous revisions which it constantly underwent over the course of the centuries reflect its development. Our entire intellectual and religious history is based on its readings. The Latin Bible is a prominent source of information not only for theologians, but also historians and linguists. It bears witness to numerous levels of language, ranging from colloquial expression to the highest refined style. For this reason, the importance of the Vetus Latina for the cultural and religious history of the West can hardly be overrated.

At the same time, we must not succumb to the mistaken impression that the Vetus Latina gives us access to the original Latin text of the Christian Bible. Rather, we are dealing with translations which have been transmitted piecemeal. In the case of the Old Testament, these are descended from the Septuagint, a free rendering of the Hebrew original into Greek. Nevertheless, the Old Latin Bible, in its ancient diversity, is a splendid record of the way in which the West made the Christian message its own. The frequently-invoked Christian roots of the West will be brought clearly before our eyes through the edition of the Vetus Latina.

Codex Bonifatius

Detail from Codex Bonifatianus (completed in 547) with the text of the letter of James

Folianten

Volumes from the Abbey Library in Beuron

Erzabtei Beuron

The Archabbey of Beuron in the Danube Valley

Griechische Handschrift

Greek manuscript

 

"What happens here is not simply a great scholarly enterprise with subscribers in all continents and dozens of countries. It is the most fascinating work of excavation which can be imagined. The information which comes to light reflects the time of its origin more clearly and truly than anything which could otherwise be excavated. What a time it was! These were the centuries in which the West took root."
Peter Härlin, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung

Vetus Latina

Nach Pierre Sabatier
neu gesammelt und herausgegeben
von der Erzabtei Beuron
unter der Leitung von Thomas Johann Bauer

Was ist die Vetus Latina?

Vetus Latina oder ‚altlateinische Bibel‘ ist die Sammelbezeichnung für die große und sehr verschiedenartige Gruppe der lateinischen Bibeltexte, die seit dem 2. Jahrhundert in den christlichen Gemeinden in Gebrauch waren. Mit der Ausbreitung und dem Siegeszug des Christentums im Römischen Reich setzte sich das Lateinische als Verkehrssprache gegenüber dem Griechischen immer stärker durch – in Nordafrika ebenso wie in Spanien, England, Gallien und in Germanien. So entstand eine Vielzahl recht unterschiedlicher, oft ungenauer und bis dahin von der Kirche nie autorisierter Bibelübersetzungen. Diese Bibelschwemme wurde im 4. Jahrhundert gestoppt, als die Vulgata ihren Anfang nahm. Sie ist derjenige lateinische Bibeltext, der die Fülle der Vetus Latina abgelöst und sich seit der karolingischen Epoche ihr gegenüber endgültig durchgesetzt hat.

 

Die Vulgata ist eine Sammlung von Büchern mit verschiedenartigen biblischen Texten. Ihren Grundstock bilden im Alten Testament die Übersetzungen, die Hieronymus († 419) unter Benutzung altlateinischer Texte direkt aus dem Hebräischen geschaffen hat. In den restlichen Teilen des Alten und Neuen Testaments ist die Vulgata die – nur in den Evangelien von Hieronymus – revidierte Fassung einer der verschiedenen Formen des altlateinischen Bibeltextes. Sie stellt einen individuellen Text dar, der sich aus der Überlieferung eindeutig rezensieren lässt, auch wenn er in seiner langen Geschichte verschiedene Bearbeitungen und Ausgaben erfahren hat.

Demgegenüber umfasst die Vetus Latina alle aus dem Griechischen übersetzten Bibeltexte, die nicht zur Vulgata gehören. Die Vetus Latina ist nur sehr bruchstückhaft überliefert. Neben wenigen erhaltenen Handschriften, die unregelmäßig über die Bibel verteilt sind, treten als wesentliche Quelle für ihre Erforschung die biblischen Zitate und Anspielungen bei den lateinischen und in früher Zeit ins Lateinische übersetzten Kirchenschriftstellern. Unter ihnen bilden die Zitate des Bischofs Cyprian von Karthago († 258) einen sicheren Ausgangspunkt. In Wortschatz und Übersetzungsart unterscheidet sich Cyprians Text erheblich von späteren Textformen, für die seit dem 4. Jahrhundert die Quellen reichlich fließen.

Ein Urdokument der europäischen
Kultur- und Geistesgeschichte

Der Text der lateinischen Bibel gehört zu den prominentesten Urkunden der abendländischen Zivilisation. Die vielfältigen Überarbeitungen, die er im Lauf der Jahrhunderte unablässig erfahren hat, spiegeln seine Entwicklung wider. Unsere gesamte intellektuelle und religiöse Geschichte bildet sich in seinen Lesarten ab. Die lateinische Bibel ist eine hervorragende Informationsquelle nicht nur für Theologen, sondern auch für Historiker und Philologen. Sie bezeugt eine große Anzahl von Sprachebenen, die vom volkstümlichsten Ausdruck bis hin zur höchsten stilistischen Raffinesse reichen. Dadurch besitzt die Vetus Latina einen kaum zu überschätzenden Wert für die Kultur- und Geistesgeschichte des Abendlandes.

Dabei darf man nicht der Fehleinschätzung unterliegen, die Vetus Latina mache den lateinischen Urtext der christlichen Bibel zugänglich. Vielmehr handelt es sich bei der altlateinischen Bibel um bruchstückhaft überlieferte Übersetzungen des Urtextes, für das Alte Testament zudem Tochterübersetzungen der recht freien griechischen Übersetzung (Septuaginta) des hebräischen Originals. Und dennoch ist die altlateinische Bibel gerade in ihrer archaischen Mannigfaltigkeit ein großartiges Zeugnis für die Art und Weise, in der sich das Abendland die christliche Botschaft zu eigen machte. Die viel beschworenen christlichen Wurzeln des Abendlandes werden durch die Edition der Vetus Latina sinnfällig vor Augen geführt.

Codex Bonifatius

Ausschnitt aus dem Codex Bonifatianus (vollendet 547) mit Text aus dem Jakobusbrief.

Folianten

Folianten aus der Beuroner Klosterbibliothek

Erzabtei Beuron

Die Erzabtei Beuron im Donautal

Griechische Handschrift

Griechische Handschrift

 

„Was hier vor sich geht, ist nicht allein ein großes wissen- schaftliches Unternehmen mit Subskribenten in allen Erdteilen und mehreren Dutzend Ländern. Es ist die faszinier- endste Ausgrabungsarbeit, die sich denken läßt. Was da zutage kommt, spiegelt schärfer und tiefer die Zeit seines Ursprungs als alles, was sonst ausgegraben werden könnte. Was für eine Zeit! Es sind die Jahrhunderte, in denen das Abendland wurzelt.“
Peter Härlin, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung