The Vetus Latina Charitable Foundation

The Vetus Latina Foundation was created in 1951 on the initiative of the publisher Dr. Dr. h.c. Theophil Herder-Dorneich and the Archabbot of Beuron Benedikt Bauer. The charitable foundation is based in Beuron. According to its founding charter, the mission of the Foundation is "to provide financial sponsorship for the publication of a complete and critical edition involving the collection of all surviving remnants of the Old Latin Bible translations from manuscripts and scriptural citations in ancient authors".

In keeping with its statutes and management, the Foundation is a not-for-profit organisation. Its charitable status is assured by the Reutlingen Finance Office. This means that all the resources of the Foundation are used exclusively for its charitable purposes. These resources come from fundraising and donations. For this reason, the Foundation remains dependent on donations. Donations to the Foundation for its charitable activity are tax-deductible (in Germany, at any rate).

The governing bodies of the Vetus Latina Charitable Foundation are the executive committee and the administrative council. Their functions are set out by statute. The chairman of the executive committee is Dr. Hermann Herder. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hans Tietmeyer has presided over the administrative council since 2003. The Foundation is grateful to all who provide financial assistance, and seeks further resources which are indispensable in order to continue the activities of the Vetus Latina Institute.

Bank Account of the Foundation

Deutsche Bank AG, Freiburg i. Br.
(BLZ 68070030) 031510107

Governing bodies of the Foundation

Executive committee:

Freiburg im Breisgau

Archabbot of Beuron

Freiburg im Breisgau


Deutsche Bank Freiburg
Freiburg im Breisgau

Administrative council:

President of the council:

Professor Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. HANS TIETMEYER
Präsident der Deutschen Bundesbank a.D.
Kronberg i. Ts.


His Eminence
Dr. Dr. h.c. Karl Cardinal Lehmann
Bishop of Mainz
President of the German Conference of Bishops

His Eminence
Dr. Dr. h.c. Walter Cardinal Kasper
President of the Papal Council for the Promotion of Christian Unity

Se. Eminenz
Dr. Dr. h.c. Gerhard Ludwig Cardinal Müller

His Excellence
Dr. Gebhard Fürst
Bishop of Rottenburg-Stuttgart

S.K.H. Carl Herzog von Württemberg

Professor Dr. jur. Helmut Engler
Minister a.D.
Freiburg im Breisgau

Professor Dr. Dr. h.c. Jacques Fontaine
Emeritus Professor, University of Paris IV, Sorbonne

Dr. Hans-Peter Geh
Director of the Würrtemberg Library

Msgr. Professor Dr. Mag. Roger Gryson
Emeritus Professor of Patristics
à l’Université catholique de Louvain
Louvain la Neuve, Belgium

Winfried Kretschmann
Ministerpräsident des Landes Baden-Württemberg

Professor Dr. theol. Gerhard Lohfink
Bad Tölz

Dr. Wilfried Steuer

Dr. Karl von Wogau
Member of the European Parliament
Freiburg im Breisgau

Manuel Herder

Manuel Herder, president of the Vetus Latina Foundation

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hans Tietmeyer

Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hans Tietmeyer, president of the administrative council

Vorstandssitzung Große Ansicht

Board meeting 2011 in Freiburg: Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Hans Tietmeyer, Hans-Georg Ressig, P. Tutilo Burger OSB, Manuel Herder, Dr. Hermann Herder, P. Erzabt Theodor Hogg OSB, Michael Hahl, Dr. Hermann Buck, Dr. Bruno Steimer (from the left)